• Facebook Social Icon

Who we are

Staff members

Andy Rowland

As Managing Director of ecodyfi, Andy is responsible to the Board for all aspects of operation, including finance, compliance, development, communications, networking, and delivery of projects and services. When projects require dedicated staff, Andy helps the Board recruit them and manages them. Andy spent 14 years at the Centre for Alternative Technology in various roles, with jobs in nature conservation and community development before that. He has been a Community Councillor, school Governor and Clerk locally. He has a postgraduate certificate in rural community economic development and is bilingual.

Chris Higgins

Gwenfair Rhys-Davies

Arfon Hughes

Ecodyfi board members

Ecodyfi Board members – description of interests and experience


Ann MacGarry, Chair

Machynlleth. Education for sustainable development and global citizenship, young people, sustainability, overseas development.

Ann MacGarry has worked in sustainability education for 30 years, previously at CAT, currently for the charity Size of Wales (Maint Cymru). She is registered as a Renew Wales mentor for Ecodyfi. She is a town councillor in Machynlleth for Plaid Cymru, is a voluntary youth worker for Gwerin y Coed and is involved in other local organisations including Merched y Wawr, Hazina and the Food Bank. She speaks Welsh.

Märit Olsson, Treasurer and Company Secretary

Corris. Accountancy, supporting African communities.

Märit manages the finances for ecodyfi.  She has worked in accountancy for over 20 years and specialises in not-for-profit organisations.  In her spare time she manages the Machynlleth based charity Hazina that supports work in Tanzania.

Suzanne Davies



Guy Pargeter

Taliesin. Communications, business, forestry, law.


Anwen Pughe Jones

Talywern Machynlleth


John Cantor

Machynlleth. Renewable energy, heat pumps, repair and re-use, community.


Martin Ashby

Eglwys-fach. Books, bikes, appropriate technology.


Nicola Ruck

Machynlleth. Fair trade, tourism, health, woodlands.


Andy Rowland

Derwenlas. Community, appropriate technology, sustainability.